MRO Magazine

Swarovski and Design Miami/ Reveal 2016 Swarovski Designers of the Future Award Commissions

By PRN NewsWire   

BASEL, Switzerland, June 15, 2016 /PRNewswire/ —

2016 Swarovski Designers of the Future Award winners: Studio Brynjar & Veronika, Yuri

Suzuki, Anjali Srinivasan (c) Mark Cocksedge 

Swarovski and Design Miami/ unveil three installations created by the winners of the Swarovski Designers of the Future Award at the 11th edition of Design Miami/ Basel held June 14-19, 2016.

(Photo: )

2016 Swarovski Designers of the Future Award winners: Studio Brynjar & Veronika, Yuri Suzuki, Anjali Srinivasan (c) Mark Cocksedge

This global forum for design offers a progressive platform for innovative design commissions. The three recipients of the 2016 award – Anjali Srinivasan, Studio Brynjar & Veronika and Yuri Suzuki – were asked to consider and interpret ‘betterment’ as part of the creative process, in response to the current need for designers to address the quality of interaction between people and the designed world around them.

Anjali Srinivasan’s installation for Swarovski, Unda, is inspired by the beauty and impact of the human gesture. The rolling wave surface, made up of glass elements developed by Anjali and Swarovski Touch Crystal with new touch-sensitive technology, responds to human touch with glowing illumination.

Currents, developed by Studio Brynjar & Veronika, is an installation that creates unexpected moments of beauty using natural light in conversation with crystal. Each of the three elements presented investigates the different qualities of the material to bring a sense of the natural world into the domestic space, making the home a place of constant change, surprise and delight.

London-based Japanese sound artist Yuri Suzuki explores crystal as an acoustic material with Sharevari, a mechanical, interactive crystallophone. The instrument consists of 16 brass mechanical structures or ‘notes’, each one featuring a handmade crystal form, ranging 95-250mm in diameter and representing tones from c1 up to d3. When brass hammers hit the crystal, the vibrations are translated into beautiful, pure sound.

This diverse group of practitioners has responded with thought-provoking and considered commissions that express the creativity and experimentation at the heart of this award, which is being supported by Swarovski for the second time as part of a three year partnership with Design Miami/.

The 2016 Swarovski Designers of the Future Award winners were selected by a jury of leading figures in the design world, including Nadja Swarovski, Member of the Swarovski Executive Board; Deyan Sudjic, Director of the Design Museum in London; Zoe Ryan, Curator of Architecture and Design at the Art Institute Chicago; Li Edelkoort, trend forecaster and Director of Parsons Interdisciplinary Design Program; Asif Khan, Architect; and Alexandra Cunningham Cameron, Special Projects, Design Miami/.

The Swarovski Designers of the Future commissions will be exhibited alongside Design Miami’s gallery program for the duration of the fair, which runs June 14-19 in Hall 1 Sud, Messeplatz, Basel, Switzerland.

For further images please find in the dropbox link here [ ]. All imagery to be credited to Mark Cocksedge.


Photo: and Design Miami/

CONTACT: For further press information, please or ChloeBoucouvalas +44 (0) 20 7420 1729


Stories continue below

Print this page