MRO Magazine

IEEE Introduces Link Aggregation Standard Revision for More Resilient and Controllable Interconnectivity

By Business Wire News   


IEEE, the world’s largest professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for humanity, today announced the availability of IEEE 802.1AXTM-2014 standard for Local and Metropolitan Area Networks – Link Aggregation. The new standard revision is freely available via the IEEE Get Program and introduces two new key features: Conversation Sensitive Traffic Distribution and Distributed Resilient Network Interconnect (DRNI).

Conversation sensitive traffic distribution allows for the association of individual conversations to physical links in a priority order. This enables control of the physical link a conversation utilizes, and ensures that the same link is also used in both the forward and the reverse directions.

Distributed Resilient Network Interconnect (DRNI) enables up to three nodes on each side of a Link Aggregation (LAG), further enhancing interconnectivity by adding node redundancy and protection. In effect, IEEE 802.1AX-2014 provides a standardized version of multi-chassis LAG, the common nomenclature for current proprietary solutions. DRNI provides isolation, independence, and rapid recovery even below 50ms. With DRNI, interconnected network domains can be independently administered and managed and can use different technologies. Failure events are isolated so that a failure in one network domain is not propagated to the other, and failure in the DRNI is not propagated to either network domain.

DRNI supports technology agnostic resilient network interconnectivity that spans across a number of interfaces and that can be distributed over a group of separate physical components. This enables the establishment of a logical link that is not confined to the boundaries of a specific nodal enclosure and one that can be used to support network functions across a number of physical components.

“The new standard revision IEEE 802.1AX-2014 marks yet another milestone in ongoing efforts to improve the performance and reliability of the link aggregation standard,” said Glenn Parsons, chair, IEEE 802.1 Working Group. “In a growing world economy where connectivity is key, the 802.1 working group is committed to supporting broader deployment of the standard to ensure the latest technology is being applied to enhance link aggregation solutions.”

The IEEE 802.1AX-2014 standard can be downloaded at no cost via the IEEE Get Program.

To learn more about IEEE-SA, visit us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter at, connect with us on LinkedIn at or on the Standards Insight Blog at

About the IEEE Standards Association

The IEEE Standards Association, a globally recognized standards-setting body within IEEE, develops consensus standards through an open process that engages industry and brings together a broad stakeholder community. IEEE standards set specifications and best practices based on current scientific and technological knowledge. The IEEE-SA has a portfolio of over 1,100 active standards and more than 500 standards under development. For more information visit

About IEEE

IEEE, a large, global technical professional organization, is dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities, IEEE is the trusted voice on a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power and consumer electronics. Learn more at

Shuang Yu, 732-981-3424
Director, Global Standards Solutions & Content Marketing


Stories continue below

Print this page