MRO Magazine

GTF Expresses Disappointment on Failure of Member States to Vote on EU re-Approval of Glyphosate

May 19, 2016
By Business Wire News


The following is a statement of the Glyphosate Task Force:

The Glyphosate Task Force (GTF) understands that European Union (EU) Member States discussed the European Commission’s proposal for the re-approval of glyphosate at the Standing Committee meeting of May 18th and 19th, but that no vote took place.

At this stage, failure to vote on the Commission’s proposal on the re-authorisation of glyphosate by Member States represents an unprecedented delay compared to the standard timeframe and applicable EU framework for the re-approval of pesticide active substances.

The comprehensive risk assessment conducted by Germany on behalf of the 28 EU Member States and peer reviewed by the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) clearly concluded that glyphosate poses no unacceptable risks. Therefore, delays of this nature which are evident during the final stages of the process simply expose an acute politicisation of the regulatory procedure.

“The GTF consider this situation to be discriminatory, disproportionate and wholly unjustified,” said Richard Garnett, Chairman of the GTF. “Ultimately, failure to follow the process appropriately and within a reasonable timeframe will only serve to seriously undermine the credibility of the EU legislative framework and put European agriculture at a competitive disadvantage,” he continued.


About the Glyphosate Task Force (GTF)

The European Glyphosate Task Force (GTF) is a consortium of companies joining resources and efforts in order to renew the European glyphosate registration with a joint submission. This consortium is not to be considered a legal entity. The following companies are confirmed member of the GTF:

ADAMA Agan Ltd., Agria S.A., Agro Trade GmbH, Albaugh UK Limited, Arysta Lifesciences SAS, Barclay Chemicals (Manufacturing) Ltd., Brokden SL, Bros Spolka Jawna B. P. Miranowscy, Cheminova A/S, Coromandel International Ltd, Dow AgroSciences LLC., EXCEL CROP CARE(Europe) NV, Helm AG, Industrias Afrasa S.A., Monsanto Europe S.A./N.V., Nufarm GmbH & Co KG, Rotam Agrochemical Europe Limited,Sapec Agro S.A., Sinon Corporation, Société Financière de Pontarlier, Syngenta Limited, United Phosphorus Ltd, Wynca UK Limited. For more information please see:

Claire MacCarrick, +353864117461
Hume Brophy
41 Rue de la Science
Brussels 1040