MRO Magazine

DLNA® Announces 3.0 Certification Program and Updated Guidelines Helping Manufacturers Differentiate Product Offerings

August 18, 2015
By Business Wire News


The Digital Living Network Alliance (DLNA®) today announced it has expanded the DLNA Certification Program to give CE manufacturers more options for certifying their products based on how they plan to differentiate them in the market. The organization has also released updated Interoperability Guidelines that enable new product features for consumers who increasingly want to view content on mobile devices, improve energy efficiency, and enjoy video in higher-definition media formats.

“This is a major enhancement to the DLNA Certification Program and Interoperability Guidelines,” said Donna Moore, executive director of DLNA. “We now offer a 3.0 Certification option with plans to add a 4.0 Program that will enable CE manufacturers to give their customers the best possible connected home experience. Additionally, we have updated our Guidelines to make it easier for consumers to view a wider range of both standard and high-definition content on a broader selection of interoperable TVs, PCs and mobile devices.”

Over 4 billion devices have been certified to DLNA’s 2.0 Certification program. DLNA’s 3.0 Certification Program builds on the 2.0 Certification program by adding advanced features and capabilities for playback and response time. A planned 4.0 Certification option will ensure products support the broadest possible set of media formats and advanced features for optimum performance across the most extensive range of use cases. DLNA welcomes contributions from existing and new members as it defines the requirements for the future of interoperability with its new, 4.0 Certification Program.

Key new features of the updated DLNA Guidelines include:

  • Media Interoperability Improvement (MII): The updated Guidelines eliminate differences between media formats for mobile devices, PCs, TVs, set top boxes, etc., improving interoperability amongst different device classes.
  • Support for the High Efficiency Video Codec (HEVC) video compression standard: This media format profile reduces bandwidth requirements of Ultra-HD video content streams that are delivered to consumers via a media gateway or set top box for viewing on Ultra-HD TVs. By providing this standards-based solution for streaming Ultra-HD TV content, the DLNA Interoperability Guidelines enable users to view content on multiple devices in the home with four times the resolution of today’s typical full HD 1080p formats.
  • Improved power efficiency: The low-power mode already described in Part 10 of the Guidelines is now mandatory for Mobile Digital Media Server (M-DMS) and Digital Media Renderer (DMR) devices.
  • Digital Media Player (DMP)/Digital Media Renderer (DMR): DLNA Guidelines now mandate that all DMPs are also DMRs. This ensures a more consistent user experience as consumers demand more flexibility in where they play their content.
  • IPv6: DLNA has extended the home network’s functional components beyond the IPv4 Suite to include support for IPv6, the most recent version of the Internet Protocol (IP). This will ensure that DLNA devices will continue to function as more and more networks transition to IPv6.

Click here to learn more about DLNA’s new Certification Program options, and here for additional information and to download the DLNA Guidelines. The Guidelines are available now to DLNA members, and non-members can download them beginning Q4, 2015.

About DLNA

The Digital Living Network Alliance (DLNA) is a technology standards organization driven to build industry consensus to advance the interoperability of products in consumers’ connected homes. Founded in 2003 with a current membership of more than 200 companies, this unique multi-industry collaboration continues to implement an innovative set of guidelines utilized by service providers, electronics manufacturers, and software developers to provide consistent performance in a connected home environment. Consumers can share and enjoy personal content on DLNA Certified devices and subscription TV content on VidiPath Certified devices, including mobile devices, PCs, set top boxes, AV receivers, game consoles, TVs and more, regardless of manufacturer. DLNA has also created a robust certification program which tests and verifies the interoperability of products built to its standards, ensuring consumers that devices branded with the DLNA Certified and VidiPath Certified marks will successfully connect and exchange content. Additional information about the Alliance is available at Find the Alliance on Facebook at or on Twitter @DLNA.

DLNA’s leading member companies include ARRIS, AwoX, Broadcom, CableLabs, Comcast, Dolby Laboratories, Intel, LG, Panasonic, Samsung, Sony, Time Warner Cable and Verizon.

Digital Living Network Alliance
Katie Gengler, 503-908-1115