MRO Magazine

Bearing Specialists Elect New Leaders For Year Ahead

MRO Magazine   


Orlando, FL -- At its 2009 annual convention, held May 1-5, 2009, in Orlando, FL, the Bearing Specialists Association (BSA) elected Eduardo Bichara, Baleromex, S. A. de C. V., Mexico City, Mexico, as ...

Orlando, FL — At its 2009 annual convention, held May 1-5, 2009, in Orlando, FL, the Bearing Specialists Association (BSA) elected Eduardo Bichara, Baleromex, S. A. de C. V., Mexico City, Mexico, as president for the next year.

Also elected to serve in 2009-2010 were first vice-president Ellen Holladay, Motion Industries Inc.; second vice-president Howard Gainey, Bearings & Drives Inc.; treasurer Geoff Filker, Eastern Bearings Inc.; and chairman of the board Steve Durston, Jamaica Bearings Co. Inc.

Gordon Duncan, Kinecor LP; Mitch Bouchard, General Bearing Service Inc.; and Brian Negri, Jamaica Bearings, were each elected to three-year terms on the BSA board of directors. Continuing on the board are Tom Armold, Applied Industrial Technologies; Doug Savage, Bearing Service Inc.; James D. Webster, DXP Enterprises; Hal Allen, Allied Bearings Supply Co. Inc; Bill DuComb, W. C. DuComb Co.; and John Timble, Bearing Headquarters.

Lifetime Achievement Award


In what is becoming a tradition at its annual convention, BSA honoured yet another industry leader with a Lifetime Achievement Award: William H. (Hal) Allen, Jr., of Allied Bearings Supply.

In making the presentation, Andy Nations, president, Bearings & Drives, recalled that before joining the industry, Allen, who is a native of Tulsa, OK, served six years in the United States Air Force, with five years as an F4 Phantom jet fighter pilot and a nine-month tour of duty in Vietnam. He was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross and the Air Medal with 1st through 4th Oak Leaf Cluster.

Allen joined Allied Bearings Supply in 1969, was elected vice-president of sales in 1973, executive vice-president and sales manager in 1976, president in 1981 and board chairman and CEO in 1998.

Throughout his career he has been one of the most active members of BSA. He served on many committees and task forces over the years, and chaired the Industry Advisory Committee, the Industry Communications Committee, and is currently chairman of the Distributor Manufacturer Relations Committee. He and his wife Barbara have served on several convention committees. Allen has also served many terms on the BSA board of directors, and he was re-elected to the board in 2008. Allen also served as BSA’s 1982-1983 president.

In addition to his many professional accomplishments, Allen has served with various community and charitable organizations.

BSA created the award in 2001 to recognize lifetime achievement within the industry and the association. Recipients must have been a member or participating manufacturer of BSA for at least 25 years, attended BSA events, been actively involved in the affairs of the association, and demonstrated a leadership role within the industry.

In 2001, BSA awarded the first Lifetime Achievement Award to Wendy Mc- Donald of BC Bearing Engineers. In 2004, two additional awards were given to Jim Fitzpatrick, Sr., of Bearings Specialty Co. and John Nations of Bearings & Drives. In 2006, the award was presented to James Martin III, who retired in late 2005 as director, distribution, marketing services and integration, The Timken Company. In 2007, BSA honoured Dennis B. Clark, who retired in 2003 as president of North American Industrial Distribution, SKF, and Richard Gipson, Gipson Bearing Co.

BSA is an international service and educational organization of authorized distributors representing nearly 100 companies distributing factory-warranted ball-, roller-, and anti-friction bearings and invited manufacturers of bearings and related products.

For more information on BSA, visit the website at a more detailed report on the BSA convention, go to


Stories continue below

Print this page