MRO Magazine

Bearing Specialists Association elects new president

July 4, 2016 | By MRO Magazine

John Ruth, BDI, has been elected president of the Bearing Specialists Association.
John Ruth, BDI, has been elected president of the Bearing Specialists Association.

John Ruth, BDI, has been elected president of the Bearing Specialists Association.

Glen Ellyn,IL – The Bearing Specialists Association (BSA) has elected John Ruth, BDI, as president for 2016-2017, effective July 1, 2016.

Ruth takes the helm of the industry’s leading association for authorized distributors at an exciting time. Reporting on BSA’s recent Distributor Survey, Ruth told attendees at the 2016 Annual Convention that the results reveal 2015 aggregate bearing sales volume for participating distributors declined, 9.3% over the 2014 volume. Additionally, participant estimates indicate that the 2016 expected change in bearings sales will grow 4%.

Delving further into the Distributor Survey, Ruth also told attendees that the results indicate the number of hours spent on training has more than doubled from 2015 to 2016. Results show 75% of participants plan to expand their workforce in the next 12 months.

In addition to Ruth, the following industry leaders were elected to serve BSA in 2016-2017: Tim Breen, Motion Industries, Inc, as Chairman of the Board; Brian Davis, B&D Industrial, as Vice President; and Jim Scardina, Bearing Headquarters, as Treasurer.


BSA also elected Jason Vasquez, Applied Industrial Technologies, Jim Williams, Motion Industries, and Benito Rodriguez, RIRSA, to serve three year terms on the Board of Directors. Thomas Weihsmann, Kaman Industrial Technologies and Brian Negri, Jamaica Bearings Company, Inc., were elected to fill one-year Board terms.

The elections were held in conjunction with the association’s 2016 Annual Convention, April 16 – 19 at the Turnberry Isle Miami in Aventura, Fla. At this convention, the association was also celebrating it’s 50th anniversary! All newly elected leaders will begin their terms of office on July 1, 2016.

BSA also recognized Alfredo Bichara, Baleromex S.A. de C.V.; Peter Fitzpatrick, Bearings Specialty Company; Steven Smidler, Kaman Industrial Technologies Corp and Dermot Strong, Motion Industries, Inc. (Canada), who completed terms as Board members. Those directors continuing on the BSA Board are Ben Nations, B&D Industrial; Bill Shepard, BDI; Todd Hamlin, DXP Enterprises and Michel Bouchard, General Bearing Service Inc.

BSA is an international service and educational organization of distributors representing a total of almost 100 companies distributing factory-warranted, anti-friction bearings and invited manufacturers of bearings and related products.

For more information, visit the association website at



Stories continue below

Print this page