MRO Magazine

EFC names 2009 Industry Recognition Award recipient

Toronto, ON -- Electro-Federation Canada (EFC) has named Michael Kenney the recipient of its Industry Recognition A...

Human Resources

April 3, 2009
By MRO Magazine

Toronto, ON — Electro-Federation Canada (EFC) has named Michael Kenney the recipient of its Industry Recognition Award (IRA) for 2009. Kenney is president – Canada, Europe, Middle East, Asia and Australia, Thomas & Betts.


EFC will present this special award on April 14, 2009, at an awards dinner following EFC’s annual general meeting program at the Pearson Convention Centre in Brampton, ON.



Industry friends and colleagues are invited to celebrate Kenney’s honour at the AGM program and awards dinner by registering at:


“Mike’s long record of exemplary service in the electrical industry and to the community reflects his loyalty and strong business values,” says Tim MacDonald, chair, IRA Nominating Committee. “He joins a prestigious group of past award recipients, all of whom share Mike’s vision and leadership. I look forward to joining the industry in congratulating Mike on this coveted award on April 14th.”


Kenney’s dedication to the Canadian and global electrical industry is remarkable. He currently leads Thomas & Betts’ operations in Canada, Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and Australia, and manages the company’s emergency lighting business on a global basis, overseeing an organization comprising more than 3,000 employees, 23 manufacturing facilities and three regional distribution centres.


Kenney joined Thomas & Betts in 1996 as president of Canada, Australia, and Asia and assumed responsibility for the company’s European operations in 2007.


He began his professional career with GTE, progressing steadily through a variety of management positions, including vice-president, controller of GTE International Lighting; vice-president and general manager of Latin American Lighting Operations; and president of GTE Sylvania Canada Ltd. He also served as president of Osram Sylvania Ltd., a Siemens company.


In addition to his professional background, Kenney has also been an active and visible presence in Canadian electrical industry associations for many years. He has served as chairman of both EFC and the Electrical & Electronics Manufacturers Association of Canada (EEMAC). He continues to actively participate in association activities and provides strategic guidance on industry best practices.


The Industry Recognition Award is presented annually to an individual who has influenced the Canadian electrical, electronics, appliances, or telecommunications industry either as a current or retired industry delegate, or as an industry supporter. The award recipient demonstrates strong leadership through their personal and professional industry involvement and symbolizes dedication, balance, and achievement in regional, national and/or community activities. The IRA Nomination Committee calls out to members for nominations, acts as a screening panel for nomination entries, and selects the recipient based on award criteria.


Past Industry Recognition Award recipients include:


Bill Buckley, ShawCor Ltd. – 2008

Ken Gerrie, Gerrie Electric Wholesale Limited – 2007

William E. Saylor, Rexel Canada – 2006

Reginald D. Gemmell, Whirlpool Canada LP – 2006

John H. MacDonald, Ideal Supply Company Limited – 2005

Gerald G. Dunnigan, Techspan Industries Inc. – 2004

Robert T.E. Gillespie, General Electric Canada Inc. – 2003

Jeannine Guillevin Wood, Guillevin International Inc. – 2002

William Torrance, Rockwell Automation Canada Inc. – 2001

George Horsman, E.B. Horsman & Son – 2000

James G. Sinneave, EECOL Electric Ltd. – 2000