MRO Magazine

SME elects 2009 board of directors

Toronto, ON -- The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) has elected three new members to its board of directors...


January 13, 2009
By MRO Magazine


Toronto, ON — The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) has elected three new members to its board of directors and elected five members to its executive committee for 2009. All were installed October 26, 2008, at the SME Fall Board of Directors Meeting in Toronto. Their terms officially began on January 1, 2009. The members include:


President: Richard W. Shoemaker, FSME. Shoemaker is currently president and CEO of Hawkeye-Pipe, and is retired from the Kohler Company. He began his career in the machine tool industry with Sundstrand Corp., managing the first direct numerical control machining systems (Omnicontrol). An SME member since 1976, he is a founding member of SME’s Manufacturing Enterprise Council (MEC), and is a past chair of the MEC Technology Watch Subcommittee. He was elected an SME Fellow in 2004. Shoemaker received his bachelor’s degree in industrial engineering from Purdue University and a master’s degree in business administration from Houston Baptist University.



President-elect: Barbara M. Fossum, PhD, FSME. Fossum is president of the Gordon Group, a Chicago-based leadership development and change management company. Joining SME in 1989, she is a member of SME Florida Suncoast Chapter 159, and was elected to the SME College of Fellows in 1996. Fossum was educated at the University of Texas at Austin, Stevens Institute of Technology and St. Mary-of-the-Woods College. She holds a PhD in Operations Management, and an MBA and MS in Mathematics/Computer Science.


Vice -president: Paul D. Bradley, PE. Bradley is managing director for Peterson Industries where he has served in various roles since joining the company in 1980. He has been a member of SME since 1989 and has served in various elected positions, including chair of SME Adelaide Chapter 169 twice. Bradley is a recipient of the SME Ralph E. Cross Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award and in 2001 received the Governor’s Leadership Foundation Fellowship Award. He completed a four-year apprenticeship as a fitter and turner, and earned a diploma of management from O’Halloran Hill College.


Secretary/treasurer: LaRoux K. Gillespie, Dr Eng, FSME, CMfgE, PE. Gillespie retired as quality assurance manager of Honeywell’s Federal Manufacturing & Technologies division (Kansas City, MO) where he led a 200-employee group responsible for product and operating quality for the 2800-employee plant. He has been extremely active in SME since becoming a student member in 1962. An SME Fellow, Gillespie has served on numerous SME committees over the years and has led numerous SME technical conferences. He has degrees in both manufacturing engineering and mechanical engineering.


Also elected to the 2009 Executive Committee was the at-large member Dennis S. Bray, PhD, FSME. Bray is the former president and CEO of Cincinnati Inc., an advanced manufacturer of metalworking machinery with some 500 employees. His entire career has been devoted to broadening the knowledge base of manufacturing. A member of the Society since 2002, Bray was elected to the SME College of Fellows in 2003. Additional honours include the SME Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award and the Ford Foundation Fellowship-University of Wisconsin. He holds a bachelors degree in engineering, and a doctorate from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.


The three directors newly elected to serve two-year terms on the Board of Directors, beginning January 1, 2009 are:


Michael C. Burstein, PhD, CEI, EMCP. Burstein is president of TIPE Inc. in Amherst, MA, and has served the Society in many capacities, including participation in the SME Certification Oversight and Appeals Committee and the Leadership/Boot Camp Series Committee. He was a member of the SME Product and Process Design and Management Community steering committee and chaired the Computer and Automated Systems Technical Group. In 2006, Burstein received recognition as an outstanding contributor to the development of SME’s Lean Certification program. He holds a bachelors degree in mathematics from Johns Hopkins University, a masters degree in engineering from George Washington University, and a doctorate degree in controls engineering and economics from Northwestern University.


Wayne F. Frost, CMfgE. Frost, a production system project manager at John Deere Waterloo Works, manages Deere’s lean manufacturing program. He also serves other John Deere Units as a Deere product quality system auditor. An active SME member since 1983, he has served the Society at all levels. Frost has received many honours, such as the SME Award of Merit, SME President’s Award and the John Deere General Manager’s Award. He earned a BS and MS from the University of Northern Iowa.


Michael R. Watson, CMfgE. Watson is a manufacturing engineer with NACCO Materials Handling Group and is currently assigned to the team responsible for the product development of updating its Class I lift trucks. An SME member since 1979, he was mid-Atlantic Region 2 chair in 1996 and was one of the first elected members to the SME Me
mber Council. He has received many honours from the Society, including three President’s Awards and the 2000 SME Award of Merit. He earned a BS degree in Industrial Technology at East Carolina University (Greenville) and has taught engineering courses at two local community colleges.


The Society of Manufacturing Engineers ( is a professional society supporting manufacturing education. The Society has members in more than 70 countries and is supported by a network of hundreds of technical communities and chapters worldwide.