MRO Magazine

PTDA elects new board at annual convention

Palm Desert, CA -- The Power Transmission Distributors Association (PTDA) elected its 2008 Board of Directors and M...


October 22, 2007
By MRO Magazine

Palm Desert, CA — The Power Transmission Distributors Association (PTDA) elected its 2008 Board of Directors and Manufacturer Council on Oct. 19, 2007, at the PTDA 2007 Industry Summit in Palm Desert, Calif.

John Masek, vice-president, Bearing Service Inc., Livonia, Mich., was elected to succeed Jeff Pickelman, president of Northern Industrial Supply Inc., Saginaw, Mich., as PTDAs president in the coming year. Masek has served PTDA in many leadership roles, including as a member of the PTDA board since 2004. He also has been heavily involved in the work of the PTDA Foundation, serving as an Industry Champion and Advisory Committee chair for the Industrial Careers Pathway (ICP) program.

Im honoured, delighted and excited to serve as PTDAs president in 2008, said Masek. Bearing Service has been a supporter of PTDA because of the value we get back from our membership — in growth, in innovative ideas, in new business partnerships. With PTDAs new strategic plan in place in 2008, PTDA will continue to enhance distribution and strengthen our members to be successful, profitable and competitive in a changing market environment.

Joining Masek on the 2008 PTDA board of directors are:


– First vice-president Drew Tucci, director of sales for Eastern Bearings Inc., Waltham, Mass.
– Second vice-president Craig Faber, president, Miller Bearings Inc., Orlando, Fla.
– Treasurer Don Latham, president, Belterra Inc., Vancouver, B.C.
– Directors:
Larry Brand, vice-president operations, IBT Inc. (Shawnee Mission, Kan.)
James S. Gibney, president, Warren M. Pike Assoc. Div J. G. Industries Inc. (Hopkinton, Mass.)
Ron Herem, vice president, marketing and business development, Baldwin Supply Co., Minneapolis, Minn.
Wayne Law, executive vice-president, purchasing and distribution, Motion Industries Inc., Birmingham, Ala.
David Mayer, vice-president, marketing, Kaman Industrial Technologies Corp., Windsor, Conn.
Keith Nowak, president, MPT Drives Inc., Madison Heights, Mich.

Bob Ruland, president of Ruland Manufacturing Co. Inc. (Marlborough, Mass.) assumes the duties of the PTDA Manufacturer Council chair in 2008, succeeding Bill Childers, senior vice-president, industrial business group, NSK Corp., Ann Arbor, Mich. Ruland has served on the council since 2003 and previously served as the vice chair.

Joining Ruland on the Manufacturer Council for 2008 will be:
– Vice-chair Russ Perry, president of Renold Canada Ltd., Brantford, Ont.
– Directors:
Justin Aschenbrenner, vice-president, industrial business development, PT division, Gates Corp., Denver, Col.
Cliff Bannon, national sales manager, industrial division, QA1 Precision Products Inc., Lakeville, Minn.
Randy Breaux, vice-president, marketing, Baldor Dodge Reliance, Fort Smith, Ark.
Took Coder, vice-president, sales, TB Woods Division of Altra Industrial Motion, Chambersburg, Pa.
Robert J. Daniel, general sales manager, The Timken Company, Canton, Ohio
Pamela Kan, president, Bishop-Wisecarver Corp., Pittsburg, Calif.
George Rizza, national sales manager, Nord Gear Corp., Waunakee, Wisc..

Founded in 1960, PTDA is an association for the industrial power transmission/motion control (PT/MC) distribution channel. Based in Chicago, Ill., PTDA represents 216 power transmission/motion control distributor firms with over 3,500 locations throughout North America and 11 other countries, as well as 198 manufacturers that supply the PT/MC industry.

PTDA is dedicated to providing exceptional networking, targeted education, relevant information and leading-edge business tools to help distributors and manufacturers meet marketplace demands competitively and profitably. For more information, visit

Print this page


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *