MRO Magazine

EFC calls for nominations for 2007 Industry Recognition Award

Mississauga, ON -- Electro-Federation Canada (EFC) is requesting nominations for its 2007 Industry Recognition Awar...

Mississauga, ON — Electro-Federation Canada (EFC) is requesting nominations for its 2007 Industry Recognition Award, which honours leaders in the electrical and related industries and strong industry supporters.

Established in 2000, the award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated strategic vision, distinguished service, and outstanding leadership in the development or advancement of the industry. The Industry Recognition Award is open to any individual who has influenced the Canadian electrical, electronics, appliances, or telecommunications industry either as a current or retired industry delegate or as an industry supporter.

Industry Recognition Award nominees symbolize dedication, balance, and achievement in regional, national and/or community activities. The award is not restricted to EFC members.

In 2006 there were two Industry Recognition Award winners: The first was Reginald Gemmell of Whirlpool Canada. Gemmells experience in the Canadian Appliance industry spans over 50 years. His career focus had been on market analysis and research and he was involved in many national and provincial associations. His strategic vision of association development and advancement demonstrated his strong commitment and dedication to the appliance industry. In addition, Gemmells proactive involvement in energy, environmental, and government issues helped establish Whirlpool Canada as a leader in the industry on these issues.


Another 2006 winner was William E. Saylor of Rexel Canada. Saylor has over 40 years of experience in the Canadian Electrical industry, and has always placed high importance on industry association involvement. He has served on many boards and councils such as the Ontario Electrical League, CEDA and more recently CEMA. Saylor also played a significant role in creating Electro-Federation Canada itself, and helped to guide EFC objectives by serving on many committees, including the management committee. Saylor was also a founding member of the Supply & Distribution (S&D) Council and a past chair. He was presented with the S&D Honourary Distributor Award in 2002 and rejoined the EFC board as an Advisory Director for two years while retired.

The deadline for IRA nomination submissions is Friday, March 9, 2007. Nominations can be completed and submitted online at

EFC is a national, not-for-profit industry association that represents over 300 member companies in the electrical, electronics, and telecommunications industries in Canada. EFC member companies manufacture, distribute,and service a diverse array of products, including household appliances, lighting, consumer electronics, diagnostic imaging, communications and electronic equipment, cabling, industrial equipment, and manyothers.