MRO Magazine

Yves Landry Foundation reveals 2005 award recipients

Toronto, ON -- The Yves Landry Foundation has announced the recipients of its 2005 Awards of Excellence and Academi...


September 28, 2005
By MRO Magazine

Toronto, ON — The Yves Landry Foundation has announced the recipients of its 2005 Awards of Excellence and Academic Awards. The awards will be presented at the Sixth Annual STARS Technological Education Awards Gala on Oct. 20, 2005, in Toronto.

The awards recognize those academic institutions, individuals and businesses that best exemplify the vision of the late Yves Landry, chairman, president and CEO of Chrysler Canada (1990-1998), of forging a link between business, education and government, and promoting technological education and skills training in order to address the upcoming shortages that industry will be facing.

Awards of Excellence will be presented to:

PERSON OF THE YEAR –Frank Hasenfratz, chairman, Linamar Corp., Guelph, Ont.


COMPANY OF THE YEAR — Valiant Corp., Windsor, Ont. Accepting for Valiant Corporation will be Michael G. Solcz, chairman.

PROGRAM OF THE YEAR — Ford Centre for Excellence in Manufacturing (FCEM), St. Clair College, Windsor, Ont. Accepting for FCEM/St. Clair College will be Dr. John A. Strasser, president.

Academic Awards will be presented to:

OUTSTANDING INNOVATION IN EDUCATION (College Level), Award Patron — Automotive Parts Manufacturers’ Association (APMA). Recipient — Northern College of Applied Arts and Technology, Kirkland Lake, Ont., School of Welding Engineering Technology.

INNOVATIVE MANUFACTURING TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM (University Level), Award Patron — DaimlerChrysler Canada Inc. Recipient — Faculty of Engineering, University of Windsor, Windsor, Ont., University of Windsor Mechanical Engineering Program (Automotive Engineering) and Industrial Engineering Program (Automotive Manufacturing Systems Engineering).

PROGRESS TOWARDS SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT (College or University Level), Award Patron — Shell Canada Ltd. Recipient — Faculty of Engineering, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ont., University of Waterloo Alternative Fuels Team (UWAFT).

TECHNICAL RENEWAL (High School Level), Award Patron — The Woodbridge Group. Recipient — York Region District School Board, Newmarket, Ont., Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program.

OUTSTANDING TECHNICAL CO-OPERATIVE EDUCATION PROGRAM (College Level), Award Patron: Linamar Corp. Recipient — Conestoga College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning, Kitchener, Ont., Women in Skilled Trades Pre-Apprenticeship Program.