MRO Magazine

BSA hosts 2005 annual convention in Vancouver

Vancouver, BC -- The Bearings Specialists Association (BSA) welcomed a record number of attendees to its 2005 annua...

Vancouver, BC — The Bearings Specialists Association (BSA) welcomed a record number of attendees to its 2005 annual convention at the Fairmont Hotel in Vancouver, B.C. earlier this week.

The event attracted 71 distributor members and 96 invited manufacturer members. Total attendance, including spouses and guests, was 337.

The May 14-17 convention’s business program reflected BSA’s industry leadership role by assembling a program of distribution and manufacturing leaders to focus on the issues driving the industry today.

Sunday’s opening business session featured industry updates from Stephen Gold of the National Association of Manufacturers, Sten Malmstrom of the American Bearing Manufacturers Association (ABMA), and Constance Holmes of the National Mining Association (NMA), followed by the presentation of BSA’s White Paper on the Value of Distribution.


Monday’s business session featured Scott Benfield of Benfield Consulting, who presented the findings on his research into the world bearing marketplace and the impact of globalization on the industry. Immediately following this presentation, he moderated a panel discussion on this topic based on questions submitted by convention attendees.

Panel participants were: Mike C. Arnold, president – Industrial Group, The Timken Company; Dieter Kuetemeier, vice-president and general manager, distribution-North America, Schaeffler Group (Barden-INA-FAG); Sten Malmstrom, vice-chairman, ABMA; and Constance Holmes, senior economist and director of international policy, NMA.

BSA Conference Tables once again offered the opportunity for manufacturing and distribution leaders to meet one-on-one in informal sessions to discuss issues of mutual interest. For the past two years, participants have registered for the Conference Table Sessions online well before the convention, allowing participants to enjoy more productive meetings. The focus is on problem resolution rather than discussion.

BSA fine-tuned the Conference Tables further this year by extending each session to 30 minutes to encourage even more productive face-to-face meetings.

As with all BSA annual conventions, attendees participated in a number of informal networking opportunities within the framework of the business program. Golf and tennis tournaments, receptions and dinners offered varying opportunities to network with new and old industry allies.

Members of the 2005 BSA convention committee were Craig and Diane Gipson, Gipson Bearing & Supply Co.; Thomas and Pam Miller, Motion Industries Inc.; Jim and Linn Little, NTN Bearing Corporation of America; Stephen and Lynne Durston, Jamaica Bearings Company Inc.; Steven Sivo, Bearings Manufacturing Company; and Farrokh Khalili, Canadian Bearings Ltd.


BSA elected Douglas Savage, Bearing Service Inc., as president of the association for 2005-2006. In addition, Tom Miller, Motion Industries Inc., was elected first vice-president; Cam Lawrence, BDI Canada Inc., was elected second vice-president; and Steve Durston, Jamaica Bearings, was elected treasurer. Past president Craig Gipson, Bearing & Supply Co. Inc., was elected chairman of the BSA board of directors.

The association also elected the following persons to serve three-year terms on its board: Eduardo Bichara, Baleromix, S.A. de C.V.; Craig O. Faber, Miller Bearings Inc.; and John Timble, Bearing Headquarters Company. Board members continuing to serve BSA in 2005-2006 are: Mark Stoneburner, Applied Industrial Technologies; Ellen Holladay, Motion Industries Inc.; Geoffrey Filker, Eastern Bearings Inc.; Ron Aupperle, IBT Inc.; Chuck Kitchen, Interstate Bearing Technologies; and Howard Gainey, Bearings & Drives.


Plans are already underway for the association’s 40th annual convention, May 22-25, 2006, at the Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, Florida.

BSA, based in Glen Ellyn, Ill., is an international service and educational organization of distributors representing more than 45 companies distributing factory-warranted ball-, roller-, and anti-friction bearings and 45 invited manufacturers of bearings and related products. For more information, call 630-858-3838, e-mail or visit