MRO Magazine

Annual meeting highlights growth of Electro-Federation Canada

Brampton, ON -- Electro-Federation Canada (EFC)'s annual general meeting, held April 1, 2004, at the Pearson Conven...


April 5, 2004
By MRO Magazine

Brampton, ON — Electro-Federation Canada (EFC)’s annual general meeting, held April 1, 2004, at the Pearson Convention Centre showcased highlights from the 2003 annual report to members, giving a glimpse of the extensive progress and growth the association achieved last year.

By attracting 20 new members (bringing total membership close to 300), growing revenues by 23% over 2002 and exceeding budget revenues by 14%, 2003 proved to be the best single year of growth for EFC since its inception. From a broader perspective, revenues have doubled in the past four years during very difficult times for the industry.

Along with financial growth, the association has also been steadily building year by year into a broad and diverse organization. Through partnerships with provincial electrical associations across the country, work with the electronic waste environmental group Electronic Product Stewardship Canada, standards representation before CSA, UL and Natural Resources Canada, and numerous successful networking and education events, the association has also made significant gains in awareness and recognition by government, the industry as a whole and related associations in 2003.

“These achievements will provide for new challenges, opportunities and expectations in the year ahead,” said outgoing-chairman, Paul Frew, vice-president, government relations, Motorola Canada Ltd., Markham, Ont., in his report to members. “Through the introduction of a new marketing and communications committee, continued work by our government relations committee and additional proposals for new member services, programs and association management prospects, I am positive you will continue to see our substantial growth continue.”


Doug Baldwin, president and CEO of the Mississauga, Ont., based EFC, was also pleased with the year’s results. “I believe we have come a long way over the last few years. By delivering on the promise of value to members, we have realized significant growth.”

At the annual meeting, Bob Brews, president, R.L. Brews Ltd. was elected chairman of EFC. He succeeds Paul Frew, who continues to serve on the board as past chairman.

“I’m delighted to accept this chairmanship after such an outstanding year of growth,” says Brews. “We will continue to provide valuable and innovative programs to members. I plan to build on the gains made by my predecessor, keeping Electro-Federation Canada on its course of growth while improving our communications with government and the many members of our industry across Canada.”

“I am pleased to welcome the first ever representative from western Canada as our new chair,” said Baldwin. “Bob’s considerable experience as an owner/operator of a fast growing electrical distribution company, coupled with his intimate knowledge of the Canadian electrical industry and his long, valuable service as a director of EFC, make him ideally qualified to lead us in the year ahead.”

Also elected to the board were: vice-chairman Milos Jancik, president, Moeller Electric Inc.; treasurer Grant Buchanan, president, S&C Electric Canada Ltd.; and secretary Carol McGlogan, vice-president, marketing & distribution channels, Canlyte Inc.

As well, the following members were elected to the 2004-05 board: Bernard Lafrance, vice-president, ABB Control; Claudia Day, national sales & marketing manager, Alcan Cable; Kevin Smith, senior vice-president, sales & marketing, Camco Inc.;

Clayton Tychkowsky, general manager Eaton Electrical; Jack Eva, president, Electra Supply Inc.; Heather Gerrie-Kwant, president, Gerrie Electric Wholesale Ltd.; Robert Bouchard, president, Guillevin International Inc.; Allan Gibbins, president, Hubbell Canada Inc.; Anne McLoughlan, president & general manager, IED/McLoughlan Supplies Ltd.
Bob Branscombe, president, Independent Electric Supply Inc.; Chris Scott, executive account manager, Electrical IPEX Inc.; Jean Belhumeur, president, & COO, Leviton Manufacturing; Lawrence Savage, president, Liteco; Wayne Steinhoff, president, Osram Sylvania Ltd.; Lou Ramondetta vice-president, sales & marketing, Philips Medical Systems;

Robert Crow, director, government & university relations, Research in Motion Ltd.; Bill Saylor, Rexel Canada Electrical Inc.; John Hanna chief executive officer, Rexel Canada Electrical Inc.; John Whibbs vice-president, Canadian sales, Rockwell Automation Canada Inc.