MRO Magazine

Yves Landry Foundation presents Awards of Excellence to honour skills training initiatives

Toronto, ON -- The Canadian Tooling & Machining Association's Moulding Youth For Industry Program was recognized as...


November 18, 2003
By MRO Magazine

Toronto, ON — The Canadian Tooling & Machining Association’s Moulding Youth For Industry Program was recognized as the Program of the Year at the fourth annual Stars Gala in Toronto on Nov. 13, 2003. As well, ATS Automation Tooling Systems was named Company of the Year, and A. Charles Baillie of TD Bank Financial Group was honoured as Person of the Year.

The awards recognize Canadian individuals and businesses that best exemplify the vision of the late Yves Landry, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Chrysler Canada from 1990 to 1998. His goals included forging a link between business, education and government, and promoting technological education and skills training in order to address the industry shortages with apprenticeships and skilled labour.

“The awards gala provides the platform to honour those working in alignment to the foundation’s mission, and to promote awareness to reduce the current and future skills shortages facing Canadian industry,” said John Mavrak, president of the Yves Landry Foundation.

The Hon. Bill Davis, former premier of Ontario, was the master of ceremonies. The awards presented are as follows:


Program of the Year: Canadian Tooling & Machining Association (CTMA), Cambridge, Ont., for its Moulding Youth for Industry program. Les Payne, president of the CTMA, accepted the award on behalf of the association.

The program is currently being conducted successfully in the Waterloo Region and Windsor-Essex County in Ontario. The initiative addresses the skills shortage in the precision metal-cutting industries and youth employment. The 50-week pre-apprenticeship training program provides 20 weeks of classroom/machine shop instruction, followed by 30 weeks of industrial work experience, after which successful students can be registered as apprentices in a related field.

To date, the Moulding Youth For Industry program has successfully graduated over 200 entry-level apprentices into the tool, die and mould industry. The program is partially funded through Human Resources Development Canada’s Youth Internship Canada (YIC) initiative.

Company of the Year: ATS Automation Tooling Systems, Inc., Cambridge, Ont. Klaus Woerner, founder, president and chief executive officer of ATS Inc., accepted the award on behalf of the company.

ATS made a strong commitment to developing leading-edge technology, creating a stimulating work environment for employees, creating excellent value in the products provided to its customers, rewarding hard work and dedication, developing strong customer relationships by servicing their needs, showing a willingness to take on major challenges, and developing a lean management structure.

ATS has developed a highly skilled workforce, necessary for success in a knowledge-based, customer service industry. ATS started its apprenticeship training program in 1981 and continually hires and trains apprentices. Since 1998 ATS has trained 142 apprentices in its facilities. ATS is a member of the CTMA.

Person of the Year: A. Charles Baillie, past chairman and chief executive officer, TD Bank Financial Group. In the fall of 2002, Baillie convened the TD Forum on the Canadian Standard of Living that brought together more than 40 leaders in business, academia, government, labour and the not-for-profit sector to develop practical steps to help Canada raise its standard of living above that of the United States.

In addition to these awards, the Yves Landry Foundation also presented nine academic awards at high school, college and university levels to recipients who have demonstrated technological innovation and excellence.

The following Academic Awards were presented.

1. APMA Achievement Award for Outstanding Innovation in Education: White Oaks Secondary School, Oakville, Ont., for its FAMS Program (Ford Academy for Manufacturing Sciences).

2. Innovative Manufacturing Technology Program (university level): University of Cape Breton, Sydney, N.S., for its Bachelor of Technology Program.

3. Innovative Manufacturing Technology Program (high school level): Fort Erie Secondary School, Fort Erie, Ont., for its Fort Erie SS and Aero-Safe Technologies Inc. Partnership.

4. Innovative Manufacturing Technology Program (college level): Sault College of Applied Arts & Technology, Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., for its Sault College Structural Aircraft Repair Program.

5. Outstanding Technical Co-operative Education Program (university level): University of Windsor, Windsor, Ont., for its University of Windsor Engineering Co-Op Program.

6. Outstanding Technical Co-operative Education Program (college level): Red River College, Winnipeg, Man., for its Red River College Civil Technology Co-Op Program.

7. Outstanding Youth Apprenticeship Program (high school level): Greater Essex County District School Board, Windsor, Ont., for its Greater Essex Precision Metal Trades OYAP (Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program) program.

8. Progress Towards Sustainable Development (college or university level): Southern Alberta Institute for Technology (SAIT), Calgary, Alta., for its Basic Utility Vehicle.

9. Technical Career Awareness (high school level): Canadian Association of Student Robotics, Toronto, Ont., for its FIRST Robotics Competition.

“We are pleased to see award winners coming from all over Canada once again this year,” said Mavrak. “Each award winner received $5,000 in recognition of their innovative programs to advance technological education and skills training.”

A complete list of the awards and past recipients can be obtained from the Yves Landry Foundation at